Home Featured President Tinubu swears-in three ministers, presides over FEC

President Tinubu swears-in three ministers, presides over FEC

by DReporters
0 comment

President Bola Tinubu presided over the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the State House in Abuja Monday.

This is the second meeting of the council since the inaugural meeting held on Monday August 28, 2023.

Before the commencement of the meeting at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa, the President swore in three newly appointed ministers cleared by the Nigerian Senate, expanding the federal cabinet to a record-breaking 48 members.
The oath of office was administered to Balarabe Lawal (Kaduna State), Ayodele Olawande (Ondo State), and Jamila Bio Ibrahim (Kwara State). The three appointees already have Ministries allocated to them to oversee.

On September 17, 2023, President Tinubu nominated Jamila Bio and Ayodele Olawande as the Minister of Youth and Minister of State for Youth, respectively. Balarabe Lawal is to serve as the minister of the Environment.

The reason for the delay in convening the cabinet meeting remains undisclosed, with the President and Vice President having undertaken official foreign trips following the inaugural meeting.

The FEC’s primary purpose is to shape policies, oversee government projects, and support the President in fulfilling his executive functions.
Meanwhile, a minute silence was observed in honour of Mr Ajose-Adeogun, who died at the age of 96. He was the first Minister of the Federal Capital Territory(FCT) during the regime of General Murtala Muhammed.

This second meeting addressed key programs at the federal level aimed at alleviating socio economic challenges in the country.



You may also like

Editor's Picks

Latest Articles

All Right Reserved.