Home Featured 2030 World Cup: to be held across 6 countries in 3 continents

2030 World Cup: to be held across 6 countries in 3 continents

by DReporters
0 comment

Football world governing body, Fifa has confirmed that the 2030 World Cup will be held across six countries in three continents.

Spain, Portugal and Morocco have been named as the co-hosts, with the opening three matches taking place in Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay.

The opening matches in South America are to mark the World Cup’s centenary as it will be 100 years since the inaugural tournament in Montevideo.

The decision is set to be ratified at a Fifa congress next year.

Fifa also confirmed only bids from countries from the Asian Football Confederation and the Oceania Football Confederation will be considered for the 2034 finals.

Following that decision, Saudi Arabia announced it would be bidding to host the tournament in 2034 for the first time.

Fifa’s decision to host the tournament across multiple continents has drawn criticism, with one supporter’s body accusing football’s world governing body of engaging in a “cycle of destruction against the greatest tournament on Earth”.

You may also like

Editor's Picks

Latest Articles

All Right Reserved.