Home Featured VIDEO: Tinubu names Abuja Roads after Chinua Achebe, JP Clerk

VIDEO: Tinubu names Abuja Roads after Chinua Achebe, JP Clerk

by DReporters
0 comment

President Bola Tinubu says his administration is prioritizing people-focused development by providing essential infrastructure and amenities that will improve the quality of life of citizens.

This as Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Nyesom Wike appealed to President Tinubu to name two roads in Guzape Districts after Chinua Achebe and J. P. Clerk.


President Tinubu in his the remarks at the inauguration of engineering infrastructure in Guzape District Lot II, emphasized that his commitment to providing infrastructure across the country is not for personal enrichment or aggrandizement.

The President urged stakeholders in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) to pursue compensation, and not litigation to resolve land disputes in the nation’s capital.

In his remarks, the Minister of FCT, Barrister Nyesom Wike, explained that the contract initially awarded in 2003 at the cost of N14 billion was divided into Lots 1 and 2 to Messrs Dantata & Sawoe Construction Company Nigeria Limited and Messrs Gilmor Engineering Limited.

He said shortly before the present administration assumed office, the cost of the project was revised to N18.17 billion.

Barrister Wike commended the President for not abandoning the project owing to his belief in government as a continuum.

The FCT Minister, who appealed to the President to name major roads in Guzape District after literary giants, Chinua Achebe and JP Clark, hinted that the ‘diplomatic area’ in the district will be completed within one year.

In a project overview, the Executive Secretary, FCDA, Engr.
Shehu Hadi Ahmad said the area being developed, Guzape District Lot II, is an urban fringe area covering 620 hectares, with 129 hectares encumbered by village settlements.

He said the entire district, Lot 1 and Lot 2, was designed to provide residential, commercial, and recreational facilities covering an entire area of 1,070 hectares of land.


Bola Tinubu- President Federal Republic Of Nigeria

Nyesom Wike- FCT Minister

You may also like

Editor's Picks

Latest Articles

All Right Reserved.