Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Press Release

South/Middle Belt Alliance: Akintoye Resigns As Chairman, As Ilana Omo Oodua Quits NINAS

Says “Objectives of Some Leaders in the Alliance Conflicts with the Agitation of Yoruba Nation for Self-Determination”

Announces Formation of South and Middle-Belt People’s Sovereign Movement (SOMPSOM).

Tuesday 30th November, 2021

The Chairman of the Nigerian Indigenous Nationalities Alliance for Self-Determination (NINAS), Professor Banji Akintoye, has left his chairmanship role in the organization with immediate effect.

Also, Ilana Omo Oodua (IOO), the umbrella body of Yoruba Self-Determination Groups, has moved out of the NINAS Alliance with immediate effect.

NINAS was the umbrella body of Self-Determination Groups in the South and Middle-Belt Regions of Nigeria with Ilana Omo Oodua representing the Yoruba bloc, Lower Niger Congress (LNC) representing the South East and South South, and the Middle-Belt Rennaissance Movement representing the Middle-Belt Region.

In a statement on Tuesday, Akintoye and 44 other leaders of IOO said it is very imperative, sacrosanct and germane for the Yoruba bloc to quit the Alliance in order to preserve the integrity and reputation of the Yoruba Nation agitation for Self-Determination.

The statement reads “In the light of the current development in the Yoruba Self-Determination struggle, especially, in Ilana Omo Oodua, it has become very necessary for the Yoruba people to dissociate themselves from the Alliance known as NINAS with immediate effect.

“It is our well-considered opinion that some of those we allign with in NINAS do not want the kind of SELF-DETERMINATION that we the Yoruba people want.

“Therefore, we the leadership of Ilana Omo Oodua, wish to inform the general public that the Yoruba Bloc under the leadership of Ilana Omo Oodua Worldwide has moved out of the Nigerian Indigenous Nationalities Alliance for Self-Determination (NINAS) with immediate effect in order to safeguard the integrity and honour of our agitation for Self-Determination.

“We thank the Leader of LNC, Mr. Tony Nnadi, for his inputs to the NINAS struggle since inception. However, it is now obvious to most people in the Yoruba Self-Determination struggle that the LNC is not working in tandem with our objective in Ilana Omo Oodua.

“The implication of this development is that the prestigious leadership that Professor Adebanji Stephen Akintoye, has provided for NINAS as Chairman since inception has now come to an end from today Tuesday 30th November, 2021.

“Furthermore, Ilana Omo Oodua hereby withdraw its membership of NINAS with immediate effect. All the Yoruba People Worldwide that believe in the agitation for Yoruba Nation Self-Determination at home and abroad are, by this statement, notified to comply.

“We are, however, pleased to inform you that a more productive Wide-Alliance to be known as the South and Middle-Belt People’s Sovereign Movement (SOMPSOM) will be officially inaugurated after the completion of the ongoing consultations with likeminds across the South and Middle-Belt Regions.



  1. Prof. Banji Akintoye – Alana of Ilana Omo Oodua Worldwide.
  2. Professor Wale Adeniran
  3. Dr. Kayode Akinwande 
  4. Engr. Muda Ogunsola 
  5. Dr. Gbenga Adeyeye 
  6. Mr. Maxwell Adeleye
  7. Dr. Adejuwon Akinsola
  8. Pastor Ayodele Praise – Ekiti StaCoordinator, Ilana Omo Oodua
  9. Prince Ade Adefioye – Lagos State Coordinator, Ilana Omo Oodua
  10. Mr. Adekanola Desmond – Mobilisation Unit
  11. Omo Oba Kazeem Onikeke – Oyo State Coordinator, Ilana Omo Oodua Worldwide
  12. Comrade Bankole Adeniyi – Ondo State Coordinator
  13. Princess Tanimowo Okusaga – Women Wing
  14. Ms Egbinlade Adebola – Ilana Omo Oodua, Canada Chapter
  15. Mr. Seun Aribilola – Coordinator, Ilana Omo Oodua, United States of America
  16. Chief Jimoh Olawale Taofeeq – Ogun State Coordinator, Ilana Omo Oodua
  17. Ms Funmi Soyemi – Coordinator, Ilana Omo Oodua, Republic of Ireland
  18. Sheik Aduranigba Chief Imam – Ilana Omo Oodua Elders Advisory Council
  19. Alhaji Ali Oyedeji- Chairman, Ilana Omo Oodua Elders Advisory Council
  20. Otunba Tomi Koledoye – Ilana Omo Oodua Elders Advisory Council
  21. Madam Judith Richard Kila – Ilana Omo Oodua United Kingdom
  22. Dr. Chief Sola Oni – Coordinator, Ilana Omo Oodua, United Kingdom
  23. Mr. Ademola Abidoye – Ilana Omo Oodua, United Kingdom
  24. Prof. Ade Kukoyi- Chairman, Ilana Omo Oodua Think-Tank Council
  25. Mr. Bolarinwa Ade – Ilana Omo Oodua Germany
  26. Prince Adekunle Adelakun – Ilana Omo Oodua Homeland Council
  27. Mr. Wasiu Iyanda – Ilana Omo Oodua Youth Wing
  28. Mr. Elisha Ademoyegun – Ilana Omo Oodua Youth Wing
  29. Ms Bolanle Cole – United States
  30. Mr. Emmanuel Akanbi – Canada
  31. Mr. Uthman Ikosiola – United States
  32. Mr. Isiah Teju – Canada
  33. Chief Mrs Ronke Okusanya
  34. Dr. Funso Famuyiwa
  35. Mrs Busola Akintoye
  36. Oladapo Kayode, Esq
  37. Ms Tosin Adeleye
  38. Com. Deji Adebayo – Ilana Omo Oodua IT Unit
  39. Com. Femi Oluwajuyitan – Ilana Omo Oodua New Media Unit
  40. Mr. Ibrahim Hammed – Ilana Omo Oodua Tech Unit
  41. Ms Precious Olusola Adesola – United Kingdom
  42. Mr. Telita Sule – Ilana Omo Oodua Research Unit
  43. Dr. Tunde Amusat  – Ilana Omo Oodua Worldwide Administrative Secretary
  44. Mr. Oluwole Fatunde – Ilana Omo Oodua United Kingdom

Written By

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like


Adamawa APC Reverses Suspension Of SGF Boss Mustapha (Video)By Ibrahim Abubakar, Yola The Adamawa state working committee of All Progressives Congress, APC has reversed...

Press Release

POLICE FOIL ORGANIZED PLAN TO KIDNAP A 40 YEARS OLD:- ARREST FOUR · Recovers two Single Barrel Guns, Two handsets, Charms others …. ....


A fomer Nigerian Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, his wife, Beatrice, have been found guilty of organ trafficking in the United Kingdom. The duo...

Copyright © 2021 DopeReporters